The West Suffolk (Reorganisation of Community Governance) (Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill, Rushbrooke with Rougham) Order 2022

Made 27th October 2022

Coming into force in accordance with Article 1(2)

West Suffolk Council ("the Council"), in accordance with Section 82 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 ("the Act"), has undertaken a community governance review and made recommendations dated 27 September 2022.

The Council has decided to give effect to those recommendations and, in accordance with Section 93 of the Act, has consulted with the local government electors and other interested persons and has had regard to the need to secure that community governance reflects the identities and interests of the community and is effective and convenient.

The Council, in accordance with Section 100 of the Act, has had regard to guidance issued under that Section.

The Council makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by Sections 86 and 240(10) of the Act.

1. Citation and commencement

- (1) This Order may be cited as the West Suffolk (Reorganisation of Community Governance) (Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill, Rushbrooke with Rougham) Order 2022.
 - (2) It shall come into force on 1 April 2023

2. Interpretation

In this Order -

"District" means the District of West Suffolk;

"existing" means existing on the date this Order is made;

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the West Suffolk (Reorganisation of Community Governance) (Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill, Rushbrooke with Rougham) Order 2022" and deposited in accordance with

Section 96(4) of the Act, and any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number;

"registration officer" means an officer appointed for the purpose of, and in accordance with, Section 8 of the Representation of the People Act 1983.

3. Effect of Order

This Order has effect subject to any agreement under Section 99 of the Act (agreements about incidental matters) relevant to any provision of this Order.

4. Alteration of parish areas and the areas of parish wards

Each area coloured and designated by a letter on sheets 1 of the map and specified in column (1) of Schedule 1 shall cease to be part of the parish specified in relation to that area in columns (2) and (3) of the Schedule and shall become part of the parish specified in relation to that area in columns (4) and (5) of the Schedule.

5. Wards of the Rushbrooke with Rougham parish and the number of parish councillors

- (1) The existing wards of the parish of Rushbrooke with Rougham shall be abolished.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Rushbrooke with Rougham shall be 7.

6. Wards of the Bury St Edmunds parish and the number of town councillors

- (1) The Bury St Edmunds (Out Westgate) Town Ward of the parish of Bury St Edmunds shall be abolished and the area of the Bury St Edmunds (Out Westgate) Town Ward shall become part of the Bury St Edmunds (Westgate) Town Ward.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Bury St Edmunds shall be 16. The number of councillors for each ward of the Bury St Edmunds parish shall be as specified in Schedule 2.

7. Wards of the Haverhill parish and the number of town councillors

- (1) The Haverhill (Mount Road) Town Ward of the parish of Haverhill shall be abolished and the area of the Haverhill (Mount Road) Town Ward shall become part of the Haverhill (Central) Town Ward.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Haverhill shall be 16. The number of councillors for each ward of the Haverhill parish shall be as specified in Schedule 3.

8. Electoral Register

The registration officer for the District shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

9. Order Date

1 April 2023 is the order date for the purposes of the Local Government (Parishes and Parish Councils) (England) Regulations 2008.

Sealed with the seal of the Council on the 27th October 2022

[Seal]

Authorised Signatory

SCHEDULE 1 ALTERATIONS OF AREAS OF PARISHES AND PARISH WARDS

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)	Column (4)	Column (5)	Column (6)
Area (Map Sheet No.)	Parish from which omitted	Parish ward from which omitted	Parish to which added	Parish ward to which added	Consultation Issue Number(s)
"A" (1)	Rushbrooke with Rougham	Rushbrooke with Rougham (North)	Bury St Edmunds	Bury St Edmunds (Moreton Hall)	4

SCHEDULE 2 WARDS OF THE PARISH OF BURY ST EDMUNDS

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

Column (1) Column (2)		Column (3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Bury St Edmunds (Abbeygate)		
Bury St Edmunds (Eastgate)		
Bury St Edmunds The district ward of Minden (Minden)		2
So much of the district ward of Moreton Hall as comprises the parish of Bury St Edmunds		3
Bury St Edmunds The district ward of Southgate Southgate)		2
Bury St Edmunds The district ward of St Olaves St Olaves)		2
Bury St Edmunds The district ward of Tollgate (Tollgate)		2
Bury St Edmunds (Westgate)	The district ward of Westgate	2

SCHEDULE 3 WARDS OF THE PARISH OF HAVERHILL

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Haverhill (Central)	The district ward of Haverhill Central	2
Haverhill (East)	The district ward of Haverhill East	3
Haverhill (North)	The district ward of Haverhill North	3
Haverhill (South- East)	The district ward of Haverhill South-East	2
Haverhill (South)	The district ward of Haverhill South	3
Haverhill (West)	The district ward of Haverhill West	3

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF HAVERHALL

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARD AND BUMBERS OF

COUNCILLORS



